Twit2knit’s Blog

Just another crafty Blog

  • Stat Counter

    free hit counter
  • Subscribe

  • RSS Ravelry News

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Posts About:

  • Ads by Google

  • I Blogged This Day

    April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Archives

  • Waist Shaping Calculator

    Waist Shaping by Knitting Daily
    • follow me on Twitter
    • Twitter Updates

    A Few New Things.

    Posted by twit2knit on April 20, 2011

    I finished my Shalom cardigan, the pattern is by Meghan McFarlane and can be found here. I used  roughly 3 balls of  Elle Pure Gold Chunky in colourway 50 (blue) and 7mm needles. It was a very quick knit and the pattern is so easy to follow and/or adjust.

    I took a while to find the right buttons, I eventually got them from a shop on  Ebay called Textile Garden.

    I also made myself a new shawl, Zetor Scarf by Jatta Saukko. I had some sock yarn I’d dyed a while ago but was a bit ambivilent about the colour, this is what it looked like in the beginning:

    I wanted something with a bit more depth to the colour, so I over-dyed using Procion dye in deep purple ( I will get better pictures tomorrow) I adore the new colour, it’s now deep purple and wine.

    I used 4.5mm(US7)needles. The pattern was easy to follow and quick to knit up. The only problem is that the instructions don’t say how to bind off. After just binding off loosly I found there wasn’t enough give to get the points I wanted so I’m going to unpick the bind off. I’ll then use the lacy bind off, for those that don’t know it here you are:

    K2, *insert LH needle through front of two sts on RH needle and k them together, K1, rep from *

    Hope that helps.

    Leave a Reply

         
